The Inaugural Unsung Hero Award honoring Scott Murray Benefiting the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund

(Featured photo: Scott Murray, Ron Haddock, Jim Keyes)*

In early December 2021 more than 250 guests gathered to celebrate the Inaugural Unsung Hero Award honoring Scott Murray and benefiting the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund. The fund provides financial assistance to individuals from the Dallas-Fort Worth area who have the desire to further their education but lack the necessary financial resources.

Former Dallas Cowboy Chad Hennings gave a moving speech about how Scott Murray is “the real deal, ” noting his decades of service on behalf of local nonprofits to raise millions of dollars. And in a surprise announcement, Scott agreed that The Scholarship Fund, founded in 1999, would become the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund going forward. It was a thrilling moment, receiving a standing ovation.

Event sponsors Chad and Tammy Hennings, Michelle and Chase Morris

The Texas State Fair-themed event featured entrepreneur extraordinaire Jim Keyes as emcee and was held at the Fair Park Briscoe Carpenter Pavilion, surrounded by reminders of State Fair glory from years past. Hunter Sullivan and the Hunter Sullivan Band warmed up the crowd for the first hour. Dinner did not disappoint with dishes from the favorite recipes of star chefs David Holben, Richard Chamberlain, Dean Fearing, Kent Rathbun, and Sevy Severson.

The event raised $155,000 for the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund. Because of this success and continued fundraising efforts, the Fund plans to offer $100,000 in scholarships and financial assistance for the 2022-2023 school year to students in need. Assistance is available for students attending community colleges or four-year colleges and universities. Students may apply at

Ron Haddock, Jim and Margo Keyes, Carole and Scott Murray, Susan and Hank Alterman*

The founder of the Unsung Hero Award and chairman of the Inaugural event is Bob Hopkins, author, educator, and board member of the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund.  A special thank you to honorary hosts: Mr. and Mrs. Tim Brown, Mr. and Mrs. Steve Durham, Mr. and Mrs. Chad Hennings, Mr. and Mrs. Stratton Horres, Mr. and Mrs. Daryl Johnston, Mr. and Mrs. Jim Keyes, Mr. and Mrs. David Martineau, Mr. Drew Pearson, Mr. and Mrs. Bob Schlegel.

Sponsors included:

Ferris Wheel $25,000: Sandra and Ron Haddock.

Bumper Car $20,000: Mr. and Mrs. Steve Durham – Durham Family Foundation.

Roller Coaster $10,000: Chela and Norman Abdallah, Mr. and Mrs. Bob Schlegel.

Merry-Go-Round $5,000: Dr. and Mrs. Kenneth Cooper, Mr. and Mrs. Jim Keyes, People Newspapers.

Tilt-A-Whirl $2,500: Mr. Michael Baum, Mr. Jeff Schmid, Mr. Donny Anderson, Dallas Sports Commission/Monica Paul, ETHEA/Dalton Divakeran, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Feld, Ms. Gigi Gartner, Mr. and Mrs. James Halpern, Mr. and Mrs. Stratton Horres, Jr., J.M. Haggar Family Foundation, Mr. Jim Krohn, Mr. and Mrs. David Martineau, Ms. Courtney Rogers, Ms. Cindy Brinker Simmons, Mr. and Mrs. Jim Turner, UNT Dallas/ Monica Williams, PhD.

*Photos by Ruda Anderson, RUDA Photography

(This Philanthropy Lifestyles Scene courtesy the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund.)


Principal of Philanthropy Lifestyles (formerly, the award-winning eBuzzNewsletter and Adams Communications Public Relations, a boutique PR firm specializing in media and community relations for small businesses and nonprofit organizations. Sharon is also a freelance writer whose articles have appeared in Dallas Business Journal, Katy Trail Weekly, People Newspapers (Park Cities People and Preston Hollow People/North Dallas People), Preston Hollow Life magazine, The Park Cities News, White Rock Lake Weekly, numerous blogs and websites and more.